The Christian teaching on being saved is that one needs to accept Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross as atonement for sins.
This in itself is linked to other christian doctrines such as that of “original sin” (people are sinners by default, because of Adams & Eves sin in the garden of Eden) and the requirement of the sacrifice of an “unblemished lamb” for forgiveness of sins (whose role Jesus supposedly played during his crucifixion).

The main question
However, can a person really be saved by merely accepting that Jesus died for the sins of the world? Does the bible teach otherwise?

Regardless of whats being taught in churches, lets see what the bible itself has to say on this matter.

I will be using Matthew 25:31-46 as the basis of my thread.
This particular part of the bible is extremely crucial to understanding the criteria for salvation as it is the only part of the bible which explains the events of judgement day.

Lets start…

Matthew 25:31-46.

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

Commentary : Here we see that the saved and unsaved are being seperated from all the nations. Based on their reward/punishment, they are symbolized as sheep and goats respectively. On what basis is this distinction made? Lets read further…


“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger andyou invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

Commentary : Here we see that the sheep are selected basis their deeds towards others (feeding, clothing, caring etc). These people are being rewarded because of good deeds towards other people and NOT simply because they accepted Jesus’ sacrifice as atonement for their sins.
Nothing is mentioned about Jesus’ supposed sacrifice… or the need for it to cleanse man of sin…. or anything about christian doctrines such as original sin, atonement through sacrifice, etc.


“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

“Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

Commentary : As with the sheep, the goats also were selected basis their deeds towards their fellow humans and NOT because they did not accept Jesus’ sacrifice as ‘atonement for their sins’. These people are being punished because of their unkind attitude towards other people and nothing else.

Conclusion :
The basis of judgement, according to Matthew 25:31-46, seems to simply be on how a person treats his fellow man. Please note that, there is NO mention of Jesus dying for peoples sins and people being forgiven by accepting Jesus’ death on the cross …in spite of it being the only requirement for salvation according to christian doctrine.

The righteous were not told they were saved because they accepted the sacrifice of Jesus.
And likewise, the unrighteous were not told they were damned because they did not accept the sacrifice of Jesus. Bear in mind, this is an account of what will happen on the day of judgement (the future), which means it comes much, much AFTER the doctrine of atonement was established.

These verses pertaining to judgement do not repeat typical christian doctrine involving Jesus’ supposed sacrifice… or the need for it to cleanse man of sin…. or anything about christian doctrines such as original sin, atonement through sacrifice, etc.

Jesus here is seen playing the role of a judge who rewards/punishes people by their deeds. Jesus does not reward/punish people for accepting or rejecting the so-called sin sacrifice, that would have cleansed people of their sins, thereby ‘saving’ them and getting them into heaven. 

IMPLICATIONS FOR CHRISTIAN DOCTRINES SUCH AS ‘ORIGINAL SIN’ AND ‘SALVATION THROUGH JESUS’ SACRIFICE

If one considers the bible innerant, then the events of Matthew Matthew 25:31-46 regarding the conditions for salvation are to be taken seriously. For reasons explained above, the implications are tremendous for christian doctrines such as “original sin” and the requirement of accepting Jesus’ sacrifice for sin of all mankind.

http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread748129/pg1

